Knowledge Base

PowerPoint: Creating Personal Templates

Last Updated | Permalink

Overview:

This article describes how to create personal templates in PowerPoint. 

Considerations:


Steps:

  1. Select Blank Presentation on the PowerPoint home page
  2. Go to the View tab
    The PowerPoint toolbar with the 'View' tab selected
  3. Select Slide Master
    The 'View' tab with 'Slide Master' selected
  4. Edit the parent slide first
    NOTE: Changes you make here apply to all slides. It is best to set typography, colors, and permanent branding here.
  5. Customize individual slides next to suit your content
    NOTE: Select Insert Layout for specialized slide structure and Insert Placeholder to add text, images, charts, or table zones.
  6. When done, click Close Master View
    The 'Slide Master' toolbar with 'Close Master View' selected
  7. Select File > Save a Copy
    In the File toolbar, select "Save a Copy" the 5th option down
  8. Select PowerPoint template
    Where it asks how to save your project, select 'PowerPoint template (*.potx)' the 5th option down
    NOTE: PowerPoint will add the file to your Custom Office Templates folder
  9. Name your file and click Save
  10. To use your template: Open PowerPoint and go to File > New > Personal (or Custom)

Still need help?

If you have questions related to this article, please contact the LTS Help Desk at 715-836-5711 or helpdesk@uwec.edu.

Confirm Action

Are you sure?